The use of gems in chandeliers begins in the seventeenth century; mostly of rock crystal, forming beads and pendants, though also turquoise or jade.

These expensive stones were reserved for exceptional pieces; usually small, evoking the preciousness of a jewel suspended from a ceiling. Régis Mathieu preserves this tradition using the rock crystals in a new form, he also chooses to play with this natural material in his contemporary millennium creations: the link between past and modernity gives a timeless nature to his light sculptures. In this new collection; the urchin is the  rst «shinning jewel», with its imposing  nesse and sensitivity it will echo the scale of the Odyssey collection. The citrine and topaz crown of the urchin provide a precious halo containing thousands of pieces in scintillating warm colors. Leaving room for other gems to be  lled in at will, according to the imagination of its future collector …

Jellyfish

The Medusa, an ever recurrent theme since ancient times, inspires today’s designers by its bewitching form. The shapely contours and slender filaments become a pretext for decorative chasing. Like so many sculpted alveoli, the suckers offer refuge to cut rock crystal drops. Here the rich strength of gilt bronze is combined with the subtle transparency of crystal.

Ht 85 cm – Diam 110 cm
Ht 33.46’’ – Diam 43.30’’

Sea Urchin

It is the sea urchin skeleton that inspires Régis Mathieu: the famous spines of the crustacean give way to semi-precious stones that scatter light.
It immerses us once again in a quasi-scienti c universe, a continuation of previous collections that visit the cosmos. This time it is the world under the sea that inspires. The sea urchin’s generous roundness, the lightness of its graphic crown and eeting shadows. New lighting techniques, echo in blooming shades of pink and gold and brown citrine cover the delicately chased sea urchin, dressed in its nery of over seven hundred precious stones, it is undoubtedly a object for a discerning collector.

Diam 100cm – Ht 50cm
Diam 39.37’’ – Ht 19.68’

Lampe Corail
Applique Petit Cirripedia
Applique Grand Cirripedia
Applique Corail - détail
Applique WaterLily
Waterlily - détail
Applique Corail
Applique Grand Cirripedia
Lampe Petit Cirripedia

Coral

Corals, the reef builders, an exhibit of exoskeletons, creating marvelious underwater fauna.  

They capture light and shelter thousands of living beings.  It is only natural that we would want to reinterpret their magnificent forms, their thin leaves, cirripedia imprisoning light; better to bring out our bronze work patina and semi-precious stones.

 

CORAL LAMP
Ht 70 cm – L 40 cm x 40 cm
Ht 27.56’’ – L 15.75’’ x 15.75’’
Silver and black gold finish Semi-precious stones

CORAL SCONCE
L 40 cm x 40 cm
L 15.75’’ x 15.75’’
Silver and black gold  finish Semi-precious stones

WATERLILY SCONCE
Ht 38 cm – Prof 16 cm / Ht 14.96’’ – Depth 6.30’’
Silver and black gold  finish and semi-precious stones

 

WATERLILY CHANDELIER
Ht 40 cm – Prof 13 cm / Ht 15.74’’ – Depth 5.12’
Silver and black gold finish and semi-precious stones

LITTLE CIRRIPEDIA SCONCE
Diam 20 cm / Diam 7.87’’
Silver and black gold  finish and semi-precious stones

LITTLE CIRRIPEDIA SCONCE
Diam 30 cm / Diam 11.81’’
Silver and black gold  finish and semi-precious stones

LITTLE CIRRIPEDIA LAMP
Ht 60 cm – Diam 30 cm
Ht 23.62’’ – Diam 11.81’’
Silver and black gold  finish Semi-precious stones

LITTLE CIRRIPEDIA LAMP
Ht 50 cm – Diam 20 cm
Ht 19.68’’ – Diam 7.87’’
Silver and black gold finish Semi-precious stones

L’utilisation des gemmes dans les lustres commence dès le XVIIe siècle, le plus souvent en cristal de roche pour former perles et pampilles, mais aussi en turquoises ou jades serties.Ces pierres onéreuses étaient réservées aux pièces d’exception, en général de petite taille, évoquant la préciosité d’un bijou pendu au plafond.

Si Régis Mathieu a perpétué cette tradition en utilisant les cristaux de roche dans ses rééditions, il a également choisi de jouer avec cette matière naturelle millénaire pour ses créations contemporaines : ce trait d’union entre passé et modernité confère le caractère intemporel à ses sculptures de lumière. Cette nouvelle collection, avec l’Oursin comme premier « lustre bijou », vient imposer sa finesse et son caractère délicat en écho au gigantisme de la collection odyssée. Les citrines et topazes couronnent l’oursin, offrant un halo précieux et scintillant de mille éclats aux couleurs chaudes. Elles peuvent également laisser place à d’autres pierres fines ou précieuses à l’envi, selon l’imaginaire de son futur collectionneur…

Jellyfish

La Méduse, thème éternel depuis l’Antiquité est une forme magique inspirante pour les designers actuels. Ses galbes et ses filaments graciles, sont prétexte à la ciselure, ses ventouses comme autant d’alvéoles sculptées abritent des gouttes de cristal de roche taillées. Ici La force et la richesse du bronze doré se conjuguent à la transparence subtile du cristal ou de l’albâtre. Elle offre, grâce au talent des bronziers d’art, un lustre spectaculaire complètement intemporel, aussi à l’aise dans le Nautilus que dans une exposition d’Art contemporain.

Ht 85 cm – Diam 110 cm
Ht 33.46’’ – Diam 43.30’’

Sea Urchin

C’est le squelette aérien de l’oursin qui inspire ici Régis Mathieu : les fameux piquants du crustacé laissent place aux pierres semi-précieuses qui diffusent la lumière. Il nous plonge encore une fois dans un univers quasi scientifique, en continuité des précédentes collections qui visitaient le cosmos. Cette fois, c’est le monde marin qui l’inspire. L’oursin, avec sa rondeur généreuse, la légèreté de sa couronne graphique et aéenne,  flotte avec ses ombres portées. Les nouvelles techniques d’éclairage épanouissent des nuances d’ors rose, doré ou brun en écho aux citrines qui le recouvrent… L’oursin délicatement ciselé, paré de ses plus beaux atours avec plus de sept cents pierres  fines, est sans nul doute un objet pour collectionneur averti.

Diam 100cm – Ht 50cm
Diam 39.37’’ – Ht 19.68’

Lampe Corail
Applique Petit Cirripedia
Applique Grand Cirripedia
Applique Corail - détail
Applique WaterLily
Waterlily - détail
Applique Corail
Applique Grand Cirripedia
Lampe Petit Cirripedia

Coraux

Les Coraux, ces bâtisseurs de récifs, exhibent leurs exosquelettes, créant une faune sous-marine merveilleuse. Ils captent la lumière et abritent  des milliers d’êtres vivants.

C’est tout naturellement que nous réinterprétons ici  leurs formes magnifiques, fines feuilles ou cirripédia, emprisonnant la lumière pour mieux faire ressortir notre travail de bronze, de patine et de taille de pierres semi-précieuses.

Lampe Corail
Ht 70 cm – L40 cm x 40 cm
Ht 27.56 – L 15.75’’ x 15.75’’

Applique Corail
L40 cm x 40 cm
L 15,75’’ x 15.75’’

Applique Waterlily
Ht 38 cm – Prof 12 cm
Ht 14.96’’ – D 4.72’’

 

Applique Petit Cirripedia
Diam 20 cm
Diam 7.87’’

Applique grand Cirripedia
Diam 20 cm
Diam 7.87’’

Lampe Grand Cirripedia
Ht 60 cm – Diam 30 cm
Ht 23.62″ – Diam 11.81″

Lampe Petit Cirripedia
Ht 50 cm – Diam 20 cm
Ht 19.68’’ – Diam 7.87’’